Debute Concert of Árpád Kákonyi and Dávid Simon

Classical music

Videó bezárása

Árpád Kákonyi was born in Kalocsa in 1982. He started studying music at the Liszt Ferenc Music School in Kalocsa, then he continued playing the piano and studying composing at the Bartók Béla Conservatory in Budapest.
Árpád Kákonyi was only 16 years old when he won first prize in the National Piano Competition in Békéstarhos. In 2002 he won first prize in the National Bartók Competition for Young Composers. Having finished his studies at the Bartók Béla Conservatory, Árpád went to study composition at the Liszt Ferenc Music Academy. His professors at the Academy were Judit Apagyi, Ferenc Fuchs, Gabriella Jensen, Mariann Ábrahám, István Fekete Győr and János Vajda. He participated in the Paul Gulda's master course in Bayreuthban. He had his diploma concert in composition his Mass written for soloists, choir and symphonic orchestra was played by the Budafoki Dohnányi Ernő Symphonic Orchestra, directed by Gábor Hollerung.
Árpád has been playing piano with several orchestras in the concert halls of Hungary: he played with the UMZE chamber music orchestra in their "Hommage a Ligeti" concert as well as the concert given to celebrate Steve Reich 70th birthday. Apart from the UMZE, Árpád Kákonyi has performed with The Budapest String Orchestra, the Intermoduláció and the Liszt Ferenc Chamber Music Orchestra as well as played at the 1st and 2nd Fazioli Piano Festival. As a member of chamber music performer, Árpád Kákonyi has also played the piano in Switzerland, the Netherlands, Germany, Austria and the United States. On a special occasion he played for the Belgian royal family in Bruges. On several occasion he was performing together with violinist Ádám Banda and cellist István Váradi.
Kákonyi's compositions were performed in the Budapest Autumn Festival, the Mini Festival and in "The Music of Our Days" series. His "151st Psalm for Female Choir" was published by Editio Musica Budapest in the summer of 2010. 2010. Kákonyi wrote this piece for the Bartók Béla Choir Competition held in Debrecen.

Flute player player Dávid Simon was born in 1984, in Gyöngyös, Hungary. Having finished the Bartók Béla Conservatory he continued his studies at the Liszt Ferenc Music Academy, where he attended the classes of Antal Szabó.
From 2007 to 2010 Dávid Simon attended the Master Course of the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München, where his professor was Marianne Henkel-Adorján. During his stay at München, he also played the recorder for one year under the guidance of Professor Michael Schmidt-Casdorff. Dávid Simon attended several master courses held by Aurčle Nicolet, Yossi Arnheim, Michael Martin Kofler, Zoltán Gyöngyössy and Lóránt Kovács. Since 1996 Dávid Simon has won several prizes of different national and international competitions. In the summer of 2011 he was awarded second prize in the "De Lorenzo" international flute competition held in Viggiano, Italy.
Dávid Simon regularly plays as a soloist as well as the member of chamber music orchestras in Budapest, Krakow, München and South Tirol; he has played in the orchestra of the Münchner Symphoniker, the Landestheater Passau and the Münchner Rundfunkorchester. He is an active member of several modern music orchestras as well. As a composer, he won a special prize in 2002, in the Bartók Béla Competition for Composers and was awarded "The Youth of Gyöngyös for Music" prize in 2007. From 2007 to 2009 he was on a scholarship granted by the Bayerisches Hochschulzentrum für Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa. From 2008, he has also been a supported musician of the Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now organization.
Dávid Simon began teaching flute at the Music Faculty of the University of Augsburg in 2009, and was contracted by the Orchestra of the Landestheater Passau in the autumn of 2011.
The Hungarian Chamber Orchestra was founded with various talented musicians in 2011. Many of them have already played major roles in great orchestras. The head of the orchestra is Béla Bánfalvi (violin soloist owning the famous Liszt Award and Bartók-Pásztory Award) who has been the concertmaster of the Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra for 25 years.

Bohuslav Martinu: Trio for flute, Violoncello and piano (1944)
Árpád Kákonyi: Suite for solo cello
Saverio Mercadante: E minor flute competition No. 2 Op. 57
Franz Schubert: Notturno D 897 (adaptation of Árpád Kákonyi, world premiere)
Árpád Kákonyi: Wedding music (world premiere)


Bendegúz Kovács - cello
The Hungarian Chamber Orchestra

Concert master: Béla Bánfalvi

Your browser is outdated

Please update your browser UPDATE NOW